Comments for the name Avis

Filter:

Comments for AVIS:

The word "avis" means "sheep" in Lithuanian.
-- monie  1/24/2005
Avis is a rent-a-car business known globally. That probably hasn't helped its popularity any, though Avis had gone out of style by the time of the company's inception! :)
-- WeloveyouJesseLacey  4/20/2005
This means "newspaper" in Danish.
-- wiswina  5/25/2005
This means "newspaper" in Danish. So it's funny to me in that way, since every time I see this name, I think of that.
-- Charlie1977  1/23/2007
My great-grandmother's name was Avis. I think it sounds more like a man's name. Not a woman's.
-- Anonymous User  5/17/2007
I really like this name. It brings to mind a woman who is strong and determined, and perhaps a little wild.
-- black_lace  3/3/2008
I agree. But it also reminds me of a tomboyish little girl running around outside. It also reminds me of the air. But both of these combined, I suppose it would become something like "bird," which is a really poor meaning for a name, like "bee" (Melissa).
-- themoongirl  4/3/2008
This name always makes me think of Averice. Isn't that one of the seven deadly sins?
-- Anonymous User  8/1/2008
It says in my book of names that this name is of Teutonic origin, and it says that it means "a refugee in trouble". Quite a common name in the gypsy community.
-- walesgal92  4/23/2009
Avis is a slang for "jealous" in Swedish.
-- Beautiful Victory  12/26/2009
This is the name of the second dynasty in Portuguese History. Dynasty of Avis (or Aviz), also called Joanina, was created by John I, Master of Avis.
-- theadiragram  10/17/2011
Avis is a spell in Harry Potter! (AAAAAAH, will I EVER get those books out of my mind?!) Sorry, got a bit off topic there. Personally, I think this name is really cute. :)
-- blondieboo629  12/5/2011
For some reason this sounds like a boy's name to me. But I think it's be a good name for a tomboy :)
-- Anonymous User  1/27/2013

Add a Comment

Key: Meaning/History Usage Pronunciation Famous Bearer Personal Impression Other

Comments are left by users of this website. They are not checked for accuracy.