Finnish Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Finnish Presidents and Prime Ministers. The President (Finnish Presidentti) is the head of state, in charge of foreign affairs and the military, while the Prime Minister is the head of government (Pääministeri). The positions were established in 1919 and 1917 respectively, at the time of Finnish independence.
Display      more options...
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Ahti Karjalainen1962-1963; 1970-1971prime minister
Aimo Cajander1922; 1924; 1937-1939prime minister
Alexander Stubb2014-2015prime minister(Cai, Göran)
Anneli Jäätteenmäki2003prime minister
Antti Hackzell1944prime minister
Antti Tulenheimo1925prime minister
Carl Gustaf Emil Mannerheim1944-1946president
Edwin Linkomies1943-1944prime minister
Esko Aho1991-1995prime minister
Harri Holkeri1987-1991prime minister
Johannes Virolainen1964-1966prime minister
Juha Sipilä2015-president(Petri)
Juho Kusti Paasikivi1944-1946; 1946-1956prime minister; president
Juho Sunila1927-1928; 1931-1932prime minister
Juho Vennola1919-1920; 1921-1922prime minister
Jukka Rangell1941-1943prime minister(Johan, Wilhelm)
Jyrki Katainen2011-prime minister
Kaarlo Castrén1919prime minister
Kaarlo Juho Ståhlberg1919-1925president
Kalevi Sorsa1972-1975; 1977-1979; 1982-1987prime minister
Karl-August Fagerholm1948-1950; 1956-1957; 1958-1959prime minister
Keijo Liinamaa1975prime minister
Kyösti Kallio1922-1924; 1925-1926; 1929-1930; 1936-1937; 1937-1940prime minister; president
Lauri Ingman1918-1919; 1924-1925prime minister
Lauri Kristian Relander1925-1931president
Mari Kiviniemi2010-2011prime minister
Martti Ahtisaari1994-2000president
Martti Miettunen1961-1962; 1975-1977prime minister
Matti Vanhanen2003-2010prime minister
Mauno Koivisto1968-1970; 1979-1982; 1982-1994prime minister; president
Mauno Pekkala1946-1948prime minister
Oskari Mantere1928-1929prime minister
Paavo Lipponen1995-2003prime minister
Pehr Evind Svinhufvud1930-1931; 1931-1937prime minister; president
Rafael Erich1920-1921prime minister
Rafael Paasio1966-1968; 1972prime minister
Rainer von Fieandt1957-1958prime minister
Ralf Törngren1954prime minister
Reino Kuuskoski1958prime minister
Reino R. Lehto1963-1964prime minister(Ragnar)
Risto Ryti1939-1940; 1940-1944prime minister; president
Sakari Tuomioja1953-1954prime minister
Sauli Niinistö2012-president
Tarja Halonen2000-2012president
Teuvo Aura1970; 1971-1972prime minister
Toivo Kivimäki1932-1936prime minister(Mikael)
Urho Castrén1944prime minister
Urho Kekkonen1950-1953; 1954-1956; 1956-1982prime minister; president
Väinö Tanner1926-1927prime minister
V. J. Sukselainen1957; 1959-1961prime minister(Vieno, Johannes)
50 results