Hungarian Kings and Queens

The first king of Hungary was Saint István, or Stephen in English. He was a descendant of Árpád, the man who led the Magyars (the Hungarians) into Hungary in perhaps the late 9th century. István's line ruled until 1301.

The Árpád dynasty became extinct in 1301 and soon after that Charles (Károly) I and the Angevin dynasty came to power. Though born in France, Charles was a distant descendant of István V. The Angevin line ruled until 1386 when Queen Mária married the Holy Roman Emperor Sigismund (Zsigmond). The next century and a half saw internal disputes and rival claims to the throne, as well as invasion by the Ottoman Empire. A notable king of this period was Mátyás Corvinus, who expanded the kingdom and rallied against the Ottomans.

Starting in 1563 the Habsburg family ruled Hungary (they were also Holy Roman Emperors until 1806). The monarchy was dissolved after World War I.

Display      more options...
NameYearsOther Names
András I1047-1061(Andrew, Endre)
András II1205-1235(Andrew, Endre)
András III1290-1301(Andrew, Endre)
Béla I1061-1063
Béla II1131-1141
Béla III1172-1196
Béla IV1235-1270
Ferdinánd I1526-1564
Ferdinánd V1835-1848
Ferdinánd II1618-1637
Ferdinánd III1625-1657
Ferdinánd IV1647-1654
Ferenc1792-1835(Francis, Franz)
Ferenc József I1848-1916(Francis, Franz, Joseph)
Géza I1074-1077
Géza II1141-1161
István I997-1038(Stephen)
István II1114-1131(Stephen)
István III1161-1162; 1163-1172(Stephen)
István IV1163(Stephen)
István V1270-1272(Stephen)
János I Zápolya1526-1540(John)
János II Zsigmond Zápolya1540-1571(John)
József I1687-1711(Joseph)
József II1780-1790(Joseph)
Károly IV1916-1918(Charles, Karl)
Károly III1711-1740(Charles, Karl)
Károly I1308-1342(Charles)
Károly II the Small1385-1386(Charles)
Lajos I the Great1342-1382(Louis)
Lajos II1516-1526(Louis)
László I1077-1095(Ladislas, Ladislaus, Ladislav)
László II1162-1163(Ladislaus)
László III1204-1205(Ladislaus)
László IV1272-1290(Ladislaus)
László V Posthumus1444-1457(Ladislaus)
Lipót I1655-1705(Leopold)
Lipót II1790-1792(Leopold)
Mária Terézia1740-1780(Theresa)
Mátyás II1608-1619(Matthias)
Mátyás Corvinus the Just1458-1490(Matthias)
Miksa II1563-1576(Maximilian)
Ottó III of Bavaria1305-1308(Béla)
Péter Urseolo1038-1041; 1044-1046
Rudolf II1572-1608(Rudolph)
Sámuel Aba1041-1044
Ulászló II1490-1516(Ladislaus, Vladislaus, Vladislav)
Ulászló I1440-1444(Vladislaus, Vladislav, Władysław)
Vencel III1301-1305(László, Václav, Wenceslas, Wenceslaus)