Portuguese Kings and Queens

In 1139 Afonso Henriques was proclaimed king of an independent Portugal, which had until that time been a county within the Kingdom of León. Over the next century Afonso and his successors expanded the borders of the kingdom southward at the expense of the Moors in southern Iberia. By 1249 Portugal had attained its present extent. Portugal reached the zenith of its power in the 16th century.

In 1580 the Portuguese crown went to King Filipe of Spain (known as Felipe II to the Spanish). Portugal was ruled by Spanish Habsburgs until 1640, when a rebellion removed this line of kings from power and installed the House of Braganza.

The Braganza dynasty held power until 1910, when the monarchy was abolished and a republic established.

     more options...
    dash specifies range
    * and _ are wildcards
    * and _ are wildcards
NameYearsOther Names
Afonso I the Conqueror1139-1185
Afonso II the Fat1212-1223
Afonso III1248-1279
Afonso IV the Brave1325-1357
Afonso V the African1438-1477; 1477-1481
Afonso VI the Victorious1656-1683
Duarte the Philosopher1433-1438(Edward)
Fernando I the Handsome1367-1383(Ferdinand)
Filipe I the Prudent1580-1598(Felipe, Philip)
Filipe II the Pious1598-1621(Felipe, Philip)
Filipe III1621-1640(Felipe, Philip)
Henrique I the Chaste1578-1580(Henry)
João I the Good1385-1433(John)
João II1477; 1481-1495(John)
João III the Pious1521-1557(John)
João IV the Restorer1640-1656(John)
João V the Magnanimous1706-1750(John)
João VI1816-1826(John)
José I the Reformer1750-1777(Joseph)
Manuel I the Fortunate1495-1521(Emmanuel)
Manuel II1908-1910(Emmanuel)
Maria I1777-1816(Mary)
Maria II1826-1828; 1834-1853(Mary)
Pedro I the Just1357-1367(Peter)
Pedro II the Pacific1683-1706(Peter)
Pedro IV1826(Peter)
Pedro V1853-1861(Peter)
Sancho I the Populator1185-1212
Sancho II the Pius1223-1247