Australian Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Australian Prime Ministers. The position was first created in 1901, when the British colonies in Australia federated to form the Commonwealth of Australia. Like the British office of the same name, the Australian office is not codified in the Australian constitution or law, but merely by political convention.
     more options...
    dash specifies range
    * and _ are wildcards
    * and _ are wildcards
NameYearsOther Names
Sir Edmund Barton1901-1903
Alfred Deakin1903-1904; 1905-1908; 1909-1910
Chris Watson1904(John, Christian)
George Reid1904-1905(Houstoun)
Andrew Fisher1908-1909; 1910-1913; 1914-1915
Joseph Cook1913-1914
Billy Hughes1915-1923(William, Morris)
Stanley Bruce1923-1929(Melbourne)
James Scullin1929-1932(Henry)
Joseph Lyons1932-1939(Aloysius)
Earle Page1939(Christmas, Grafton)
Robert Menzies1939-1941; 1949-1966(Gordon)
Arthur Fadden1941(William)
John Curtin1941-1945(Joseph)
Frank Forde1945(Francis, Michael)
Ben Chifley1945-1949(Joseph, Benedict)
Harold Holt1966-1967(Edward)
John McEwen1967-1968(Jack)
John Gorton1968-1971(Grey)
William McMahon1971-1972
Gough Whitlam1972-1975(Edward)
Malcolm Fraser1975-1983(John)
Bob Hawke1983-1991(Robert, James, Lee)
Paul Keating1991-1996(John)
John Howard1996-2007(Winston)
Kevin Rudd2007-2010; 2013(Michael)
Julia Gillard2010-2013(Eileen)
Tony Abbott2013-2015(Anthony, John)
Malcolm Turnbull2015-2018(Bligh)
Scott Morrison2018-(John)