British Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of British Prime Ministers. The Prime Minister is appointed by the British monarch, the nominal head of state, and governs in the monarch's name. In modern times the Prime Minister is regarded as the real leader of the country.

The position evolved slowly and was never created by any law. Robert Walpole (1676-1745) is generally viewed as the first Prime Minister after he became the First Lord of the Treasury in 1721.

     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Alec Douglas-Home1963-1964(Alexander, Frederick)
Anthony Eden1955-1957(Robert)
Archibald Primrose1894-1895(Philip)
Arthur Balfour1902-1905(James)
Arthur Wellesley1828-1830; 1834
Augustus FitzRoy1768-1770(Henry)
Benjamin Disraeli1868; 1874-1880
Bonar Law1922-1923(Andrew)
Boris Johnson2019-(Alexander, de Pfeffel)
Charles Grey1830-1834
Charles Watson-Wentworth1765-1766; 1782
Clement Attlee1945-1951(Richard)
David Cameron2010-2016(William, Donald)
David Lloyd George1916-1922
Edward Heath1970-1974(Ted, Richard, George)
Edward Smith-Stanley1852; 1858-1859; 1866-1868(George, Geoffrey)
Frederick North1770-1782
F. J. Robinson1827-1828(Frederick, John)
George Canning1827
George Grenville1763-1765
George Hamilton-Gordon1852-1855
Gordon Brown2007-2010(James)
Harold Macmillan1957-1963(Maurice)
Harold Wilson1964-1970; 1974-1976(James)
Henry Addington1801-1804
Henry Campbell-Bannerman1905-1908
Henry Pelham1743-1754
Henry John Temple1855-1858; 1859-1865
Herbert Henry Asquith1908-1916
James Callaghan1976-1979(Leonard)
John Russell1846-1852; 1865-1866
John Major1990-1997
John Stuart1762-1763
Margaret Thatcher1979-1990(Hilda)
Neville Chamberlain1937-1940(Arthur)
Ramsay MacDonald1924; 1929-1935(James)
Robert Gascoyne-Cecil1885-1886; 1886-1892; 1895-1902(Arthur, Talbot)
Robert Jenkinson1812-1827(Banks)
Robert Peel1834-1835; 1841-1846
Robert Walpole1721-1742
Spencer Compton1742-1743
Spencer Perceval1809-1812
Stanley Baldwin1923-1924; 1924-1929; 1935-1937
Theresa May2016-2019(Mary)
Thomas Pelham-Holles1754-1756; 1757-1762
Tony Blair1997-2007(Anthony, Charles, Lynton)
William Cavendish1756-1757
William Cavendish-Bentinck1783; 1807-1809(Henry)
William Ewart Gladstone1868-1874; 1880-1885; 1886; 1892-1894
William Grenville1806-1807(Wyndham)
William Lamb1834; 1835-1841
William Petty1782-1783
William Pitt the Elder1766-1768
William Pitt the Younger1783-1801; 1804-1806
Winston Churchill1940-1945; 1951-1955