Israelite and Judean Kings

The first king of Israel was Saul in the 11th century BC. Prior to this the region had been governed by figures called "judges" (Hebrew shoftim). The next two kings after Saul were David and Solomon, who expanded the kingdom to its greatest extent.

Israel subsequently split into two separate kingdoms: the Northern Kingdom called Israel, and the Southern Kingdom called Judah. The Northern Kingdom was conquered in the 8th century by the Assyrian Empire. The Southern Kingdom was destroyed by the Babylonian Empire in the 6th century.

     More Options
NameYearsTypeRealmOther Names
Abijahc. 915-c. 912 BCkingJudah(Abijam)
Ahabc. 874-c. 853 BCkingIsrael
Ahazc. 736-c. 715 BCkingJudah(Achaz)
Ahaziahc. 853-c. 852 BCkingIsrael
Ahaziahc. 842 BCkingJudah(Azariah, Jehoahaz)
Amaziahc. 796-c. 767 BCkingJudah
Amonc. 642-c. 641 BCkingJudah
Asac. 913-c. 873 BCkingJudah
Athaliahc. 842-c. 837 BCqueenJudah
Baashac. 909-c. 886 BCkingIsrael
Davidc. 1010-c. 970 BCkingIsrael
Elahc. 886-c. 885 BCkingIsrael
Hezekiahc. 715-c. 686 BCkingJudah(Ezekias)
Hosheac. 732-c. 723 BCkingIsrael
Ishboshethc. 1007-c. 1005 BCkingIsrael(Eshbaal)
Jehoahazc. 814-c. 798 BCkingIsrael
Jehoahazc. 609 BCkingJudah(Shallum)
Jehoashc. 798-c. 782 BCkingIsrael(Joash)
Jehoashc. 837-c. 796 BCkingJudah(Joash)
Jehoiachin598-597 BCkingJudah(Coniah, Jeconiah)
Jehoiakimc. 609-598 BCkingJudah(Eliakim)
Jehoramc. 852-c. 841 BCkingIsrael(Joram)
Jehoramc. 848-c. 842 BCkingJudah(Joram)
Jehoshaphatc. 873-c. 849 BCkingJudah(Joshaphat)
Jehuc. 841-c. 814 BCkingIsrael
Jeroboamc. 931-c. 910 BCkingIsrael
Jeroboamc. 782-c. 753 BCkingIsrael
Josiahc. 641-c. 609 BCkingJudah(Josias)
Jothamc. 751-c. 736 BCkingJudah(Joatham)
Manassehc. 686-c. 642 BCkingJudah(Manasses)
Menahemc. 752-c. 742 BCkingIsrael
Nadabc. 910-c. 909 BCkingIsrael
Omric. 885-c. 874 BCkingIsrael
Pekahc. 740-c. 732 BCkingIsrael
Pekahiahc. 742-c. 740 BCkingIsrael
Rehoboamc. 932-c. 915 BCkingJudah(Roboam)
Saulc. 1049-c. 1007 BCkingIsrael
Shallumc. 752 BCkingIsrael
Solomonc. 970-c. 931 BCkingIsrael(Jedidiah)
Uzziahc. 767-c. 740 BCkingJudah(Azariah, Ozias)
Zechariahc. 753-c. 752 BCkingIsrael(Zachariah)
Zedekiah597-c. 586 BCkingJudah(Mattaniah)
Zimric. 885 BCkingIsrael