Hungarian Kings and Queens

The first king of Hungary was Saint István, or Stephen in English. He was a descendant of Árpád, the man who led the Magyars (the Hungarians) into Hungary in perhaps the late 9th century. István's line ruled until 1301.

The Árpád dynasty became extinct in 1301 and soon after that Charles (Károly) I and the Angevin dynasty came to power. Though born in France, Charles was a distant descendant of István V. The Angevin line ruled until 1386 when Queen Mária married the Holy Roman Emperor Sigismund (Zsigmond). The next century and a half saw internal disputes and rival claims to the throne, as well as invasion by the Ottoman Empire. A notable king of this period was Mátyás Corvinus, who expanded the kingdom and rallied against the Ottomans.

Starting in 1563 the Habsburg family ruled Hungary (they were also Holy Roman Emperors until 1806). The monarchy was dissolved after World War I.

     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
István I997-1038(Stephen)
Péter Urseolo1038-1041; 1044-1046
Sámuel Aba1041-1044
András I1047-1061(Andrew, Endre)
Béla I1061-1063
Géza I1074-1077
László I1077-1095(Ladislas, Ladislaus, Ladislav)
István II1114-1131(Stephen)
Béla II1131-1141
Géza II1141-1161
István III1161-1162; 1163-1172(Stephen)
László II1162-1163(Ladislaus)
István IV1163(Stephen)
Béla III1172-1196
László III1204-1205(Ladislaus)
András II1205-1235(Andrew, Endre)
Béla IV1235-1270
István V1270-1272(Stephen)
László IV1272-1290(Ladislaus)
András III1290-1301(Andrew, Endre)
Vencel III1301-1305(László, Václav, Wenceslas, Wenceslaus)
Ottó III of Bavaria1305-1308(Béla)
Károly I1308-1342(Charles)
Lajos I the Great1342-1382(Louis)
Károly II the Small1385-1386(Charles)
Ulászló I1440-1444(Vladislaus, Vladislav, Władysław)
László V Posthumus1444-1457(Ladislaus)
Mátyás Corvinus the Just1458-1490(Matthias)
Ulászló II1490-1516(Ladislaus, Vladislaus, Vladislav)
Lajos II1516-1526(Louis)
János I Zápolya1526-1540(John)
Ferdinánd I1526-1564
János II Zsigmond Zápolya1540-1571(John)
Miksa II1563-1576(Maximilian)
Rudolf II1576-1608(Rudolph)
Mátyás II1608-1618(Matthias)
Ferdinánd II1618-1637
Ferdinánd III1625-1657
Ferdinánd IV1647-1654
Lipót I1655-1705(Leopold)
József I1687-1711(Joseph)
Károly III1711-1740(Charles, Karl)
Mária Terézia1740-1780(Theresa)
József II1780-1790(Joseph)
Lipót II1790-1792(Leopold)
Ferenc1792-1835(Francis, Franz)
Ferdinánd V1835-1848
Ferenc József I1848-1916(Francis, Franz, Joseph)
Károly IV1916-1918(Charles, Karl)