Portuguese Kings and Queens

In 1139 Afonso Henriques was proclaimed king of an independent Portugal, which had until that time been a county within the Kingdom of León. Over the next century Afonso and his successors expanded the borders of the kingdom southward at the expense of the Moors in southern Iberia. By 1249 Portugal had attained its present extent. Portugal reached the zenith of its power in the 16th century.

In 1580 the Portuguese crown went to King Filipe of Spain (known as Felipe II to the Spanish). Portugal was ruled by Spanish Habsburgs until 1640, when a rebellion removed this line of kings from power and installed the House of Braganza.

The Braganza dynasty held power until 1910, when the monarchy was abolished and a republic established.

     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Afonso I the Conqueror1139-1185
Sancho I the Populator1185-1212
Afonso II the Fat1212-1223
Sancho II the Pius1223-1247
Afonso III1248-1279
Afonso IV the Brave1325-1357
Pedro I the Just1357-1367(Peter)
Fernando I the Handsome1367-1383(Ferdinand)
João I the Good1385-1433(John)
Duarte the Philosopher1433-1438(Edward)
Afonso V the African1438-1477; 1477-1481
João II1477; 1481-1495(John)
Manuel I the Fortunate1495-1521(Emmanuel)
João III the Pious1521-1557(John)
Henrique I the Chaste1578-1580(Henry)
Filipe I the Prudent1580-1598(Felipe, Philip)
Filipe II the Pious1598-1621(Felipe, Philip)
Filipe III1621-1640(Felipe, Philip)
João IV the Restorer1640-1656(John)
Afonso VI the Victorious1656-1683
Pedro II the Pacific1683-1706(Peter)
João V the Magnanimous1706-1750(John)
José I the Reformer1750-1777(Joseph)
Maria I1777-1816(Mary)
João VI1816-1826(John)
Pedro IV1826(Peter)
Maria II1826-1828; 1834-1853(Mary)
Pedro V1853-1861(Peter)
Manuel II1908-1910(Emmanuel)