Spanish Kings and Queens

In the 10th century all of Spain was under the control of the Islamic Caliphate of Cordoba, with the exception of the northern Kingdoms of Asturias and Navarre and the Spanish March. Sancho III of Navarre united the greater parts of these realms in the early 11th century, but upon his death his kingdom was split between his sons into Navarre, Aragon, and Castile. Castile soon merged with the Kingdom of León in the northwest of Spain, while Aragon and the county of Catalonia eventually merged in the east. Meanwhile the caliphate in the south had collapsed, and Castile and Aragon expanded their borders south until in 1248 the only Muslim possession in Spain was Granada (which lasted until 1492).

Castile and Aragon were united as Spain in 1479 when the husband and wife team of Fernando III of Aragon and Isabel I of Castile ascended the thrones. After their deaths the crown of Spain went to their grandson Carlos (the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V), a Habsburg, who also possessed extensive territories in Austria. Spain was ruled by the Spanish Habsburgs until 1700, at which time occurred the War of the Spanish Succession and the installment of a French Bourbon king, Felipe VI, as the ruler of Spain.

The monarchy was absent in Spain from 1808 to 1814 (as a result of Napoleon), and from 1931 to 1975.

     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Alfonso I the Warrior (Aragon)1104-1134
Alfonso II the Chaste (Aragon)1164-1196
Alfonso III (Aragon)1285-1291
Alfonso IV the Good (Aragon)1327-1336
Alfonso IX (Leon)1188-1230
Alfonso V the Magnanimous (Aragon)1416-1458
Alfonso VI the Valiant (Castile)1072-1073
Alfonso VII the Emperor (Castile)1126-1157
Alfonso VIII the Noble (Castile)1158-1214
Alfonso X the Wise (Castile)1252-1284
Alfonso XI the Just (Castile)1312-1350
Alfonso XII1874-1885
Alfonso XIII1885-1931
Amadeo I of Savoy1870-1873(Amadeus)
Berenguela the Great (Castile)1217(Berengaria)
Carlos II the Bewitched1665-1700(Charles)
Carlos III1759-1788(Charles)
Carlos IV1788-1808(Charles)
Carlos I1516-1556(Charles, Karl)
Enrique I (Castile)1214-1217(Henry)
Enrique II the Bastard (Castile)1369-1379(Henry)
Enrique III the Infirm (Castile)1390-1406(Henry)
Enrique IV the Impotent (Castile)1454-1474(Henry)
Felipe I the Handsome (Castile)1506(Philip)
Felipe II the Prudent1556-1598(Philip)
Felipe III the Pious1598-1621(Philip)
Felipe IV1621-1665(Philip)
Felipe V of Anjou1700-1724; 1724-1746(Philip)
Felipe VI2014-
Fernando I (Aragon)1412-1416(Ferdinand)
Fernando I the Great (Castile)1035-1065(Ferdinand)
Fernando II (Leon)1157-1188(Ferdinand)
Fernando II the Catholic (Aragon)1479-1516(Ferdinand)
Fernando III the Saint (Castile)1217-1252(Ferdinand)
Fernando IV the Summoned (Castile)1295-1312(Ferdinand)
Fernando VI1746-1759(Ferdinand)
Fernando VII1808; 1814-1833(Ferdinand)
Isabel I the Catholic (Castile)1474-1504(Isabella)
Isabel II the Glorious1833-1868(Isabella)
Jaime I the Conqueror (Aragon)1213-1276(James)
Jaime II the Just (Aragon)1291-1327(James)
José Bonaparte1808-1813(Giuseppe, Joseph)
Juan Carlos I1975-2014(John, Charles)
Juan I (Aragon)1387-1396(John)
Juan I (Castile)1379-1390(John)
Juan II (Aragon)1458-1479(John)
Juan II (Castile)1406-1454(John)
Juana the Mad1504-1555(Joan, Joanna)
Luis I1724(Louis)
Martín the Kind (Aragon)1396-1410
Pedro I (Aragon)1094-1104(Peter)
Pedro II (Aragon)1196-1213(Peter)
Pedro III the Great (Aragon)1276-1285(Peter)
Pedro IV the Ceremonious (Aragon)1336-1387(Peter)
Pedro the Cruel (Castile)1350-1369(Peter)
Petronilla (Aragon)1137-1164(Petronella, Petronila)
Ramiro I (Aragon)1035-1063
Ramiro II the Monk (Aragon)1134-1137
Sancho II the Strong (Castile)1065-1072
Sancho III the Desired (Castile)1157-1158
Sancho III the Great (Navarre)1000-1035
Sancho IV the Brave (Castile)1284-1295
Sancho Ramirez (Aragon)1063-1094
Urraca (Castile)1109-1126