Portuguese Kings and Queens

In 1139 Afonso Henriques was proclaimed king of an independent Portugal, which had until that time been a county within the Kingdom of León. Over the next century Afonso and his successors expanded the borders of the kingdom southward at the expense of the Moors in southern Iberia. By 1249 Portugal had attained its present extent. Portugal reached the zenith of its power in the 16th century.

In 1580 the Portuguese crown went to King Filipe of Spain (known as Felipe II to the Spanish). Portugal was ruled by Spanish Habsburgs until 1640, when a rebellion removed this line of kings from power and installed the House of Braganza.

The Braganza dynasty held power until 1910, when the monarchy was abolished and a republic established.

Display      more options...
Afonso6 kings6
António1 king1
Carlos1 king1
Dinis1 king1
Duarte1 king1
Fernando1 king1
Filipe3 kings3
Henrique1 king1
João6 kings6
José1 king1
Luís1 king1
Manuel2 kings2
Maria2 queens2
Miguel1 king1
Pedro4 kings4
Sancho2 kings2
Sebastião1 king1
17 results