Tony Award Winners

The Tony Awards have been given out annually since 1947 in recognition of excellence in live Broadway theatre. They are named after Antoinette Perry, founder of the American Theatre Wing, the presenters of the awards.

Included in the list are the winners of the Best Directors, Leading Actors and Leading Actresses categories.

Display      more options...
NameYearTypePlayOther Names
Helen Hayes1947actress
John Gielgud1948actorThe Importance of Being Earnest
Audrey Hepburn1954actressOndine
John Gielgud1959actorAges of Man
John Gielgud1961directorBig Fish, Little Fish
Mike Nichols1964directorBarefoot in the Park(Michael, Igor)
Rita Moreno1975actressThe Ritz
Scott Rudin1994director
Mel Brooks2001directorThe Producers(Melvin, James)
Whoopi Goldberg2002actressThoroughly Modern Millie(Caryn, Elaine)
Idina Menzel2004actressWicked
11 results