Swedish Kings and Queens

The first king of Sweden is usually said to be Olof Skutkonung but in reality there had been several rulers before him, although most of their names and dates of rule are uncertain. It was Olof who first converted to Christianity in the early 11th century. Competing dynasties ruled Sweden until 1397, when Sweden, Denmark and Norway were united under Queen Margareta (Margrethe) of Denmark.

The Swedes were generally unhappy with this union, called the Union of Kalmar, and over the next century they instead followed the rule of regents and even elected a counter-king, Karl II. Finally the union was overthrown in 1523 by Gustav I Vasa, who became their new king. Under strong rulers Sweden became a major European power in the 17th-century.

In 1818 Karl XIV Johan, one of Napoleon's marshals, was chosen to be king. His line has ruled since that time, though the powers of the monarchy are now largely ceremonial.

Note that there are some numbering inconsistencies. Kings Eric XIV and Karl IX adopted their numbers based on a legendary history of Sweden. Their predecessors of the same names were posthumously given numbers by counting backwards.

NameYearsOther Names
Erik the Victoriousc. 970-c. 995(Eric)
Olof Skötkonung995-1022(Olaf)
Anund Jakob1022-1050
Emund the Old1050-1060
Erik VII1066-1067(Eric)
Erik VIII the Pagan1066-1067(Eric)
Halsten1067-1070; 1079-1084(Alstan, Hallsten)
Anund the Russian1070-1075
Håkan the Red1070-1079(Haakon)
Inge I the Elder1079-1084; 1087-1105
Inge II the Younger1110-1125
Magnus I the Strong1125-1130
Sverker I the Elder1133-1156
Erik IX the Holy1156-1160(Eric)
Magnus II1160-1161
Karl I (or VII)1161-1167(Charles)
Knut I1167-1196(Canute)
Sverker II the Younger1196-1208
Erik X1208-1216(Eric)
Johan I1216-1222(John)
Erik XI1222-1229; 1234-1250(Eric)
Knut II the Long1229-1234(Canute)
Birger Jarl1250-1266
Magnus III Ladulas1275-1290
Magnus IV1319-1364
Erik XII1357-1359(Eric)
Albrekt of Mecklenburg1364-1389(Albert)
Margareta1389-1412(Margaret, Margrete, Margrethe)
Erik XIII of Pomerania1396-1439(Eric)
Kristofer of Bavaria1441-1448(Christoffer, Christopher)
Karl II (or VIII)1448-1457; 1464-1465; 1467-1470(Carl, Charles)
Kristian I1457-1464(Christian)
Sten Sture the Elder1470-1497; 1501-1503
Johan II1497-1501(Hans, John)
Sten Sture the Younger1512-1520
Kristian II1520-1521(Christian)
Gustav I Vasa1521-1560
Erik XIV1560-1568(Eric)
Johan III1568-1592(John)
Sigismund1592-1599(Sigmund, Zygmunt)
Karl IX1604-1611(Carl, Charles)
Gustav II Adolf1611-1632(Gustavus, Adolph, Adolphus)
Kristina1632-1654(Christina, Alexandra, Augusta)
Karl X Gustav1654-1660(Carl, Charles)
Karl XI1660-1697(Carl, Charles)
Karl XII1697-1718(Carl, Carolus, Charles)
Ulrika Eleonora1718-1720(Ulrica, Eleanor)
Fredrik I1720-1751(Frederick, Friedrich)
Adolf Fredrik1751-1771(Adolph, Frederick, Friedrich)
Gustav III1771-1792(Gustavus)
Gustav IV Adolf1792-1809(Adolph)
Karl XIII1809-1818(Carl, Charles)
Karl XIV Johan1818-1844(Carl, Charles, Jean, Baptist, Baptiste, John, Jules, Julius)
Oscar I1844-1859(Josef, Joseph, François, Frans)
Karl XV1859-1872(Carl, Charles, Ludvig, Eugen)
Oscar II1872-1907(Fredrik)
Gustav V1907-1950(Oscar, Gustaf, Adolf)
Gustaf VI Adolf1950-1973(Oscar, Fredrik, Wilhelm, Olaf)
Carl XVI Gustaf1973-(Charles, Karl, Folke, Hubertus)