Norwegian Kings and Queens

Harald Fairhair united much of Norway in the 10th century, and his relatives and descendants ruled the Kingdom of Norway for two centuries. During this time the country was torn by periods of internal unrest which were not put to an end until Håkon IV the 13th century.

In 1363 Håkon VI married Margrethe of Denmark, who became queen of both Denmark and Norway after his death. She succeeded in uniting Norway, Denmark, and Sweden in what was called the Kalmar Union. Although Sweden seceded from the union in 1523, Norway remained under of the power of the Danish monarchs until 1814, at which time it entered into personal union with Sweden. This union was dissolved in 1905, and prince Charles of Denmark was elected to be the new king of Norway (under the name Haakon VII).

Note: the kings of Denmark and Sweden who ruled Norway after the disbanding of the Union of Kalmar are included on these lists.

     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Harald I Fairhair872-930(Harold)
Eirik I Bloodaxe930-934(Eric, Erik)
Håkon I the Good934-961(Haakon)
Harald II Greycloak961-970(Harold)
Håkon II Sigurdarson970-995(Haakon)
Olav I995-1000(Olaf)
Eirik Håkonsson1000-1012(Eric, Erik)
Olav II the Holy1015-1028(Olaf)
Håkon Eiriksson1028-1029(Haakon)
Knut the Great1028-1035(Canute, Cnut, Knud)
Magnus I the Good1035-1047
Harald III Hardrada1046-1066(Harold)
Magnus II1066-1069
Olav III the Quiet1067-1093(Olaf)
Magnus III Barefoot1093-1103
Øystein I1103-1123(Eystein)
Sigurd I the Crusader1103-1130
Magnus IV the Blind1130-1135
Harald IV Gille1130-1136(Harold)
Sigurd II1136-1155
Inge I the Hunchback1136-1161
Øystein II1142-1157(Eystein)
Håkon II the Broadshouldered1157-1162(Haakon)
Magnus V1161-1184
Sverre the Mysterious1184-1202(Sverrir)
Håkon III1202-1204(Haakon)
Inge II1204-1217
Håkon IV the Old1217-1263(Haakon)
Magnus VI the Lawful1263-1280
Eirik II1280-1299(Eric, Erik)
Håkon V1299-1319(Haakon)
Magnus VII1319-1355
Håkon VI1343-1380(Haakon)
Olav IV1380-1387(Olaf, Oluf)
Margrete1388-1412(Margaret, Margrethe)
Eirik III of Pomerania1389-1442(Eric, Erik)
Christoffer of Bavaria1442-1448(Christopher, Kristoffer)
Karl I1449-1450(Carl, Charles)
Christian I1450-1481
Christian II1513-1523
Fredrik I1523-1533(Frederick, Frederik)
Christian III1537-1559
Fredrik II1559-1588(Frederick, Frederik)
Christian IV1588-1648
Fredrik III1648-1670(Frederick, Frederik)
Christian V1670-1699
Fredrik IV1699-1730(Frederick, Frederik)
Christian VI1730-1746
Fredrik V1746-1766(Frederick, Frederik)
Christian VII1766-1808
Fredrik VI1808-1814(Frederick, Frederik)
Christian Frederick1814
Karl II1814-1818(Carl, Charles)
Karl III Johan1818-1844(Carl, Charles, Jean, Baptist, Baptiste, John, Jules, Julius)
Oskar I1844-1859(Josef, Joseph, Oscar, François, Frans)
Karl IV1859-1872(Carl, Charles, Ludvig, Eugen)
Oskar II1872-1905(Oscar, Fredrik)
Haakon VII1905-1957(Håkon)
Olav V1957-1991(Olaf)
Harald V1991-(Harold)