Irish Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Irish Presidents and Prime Ministers. The President is the largely ceremonial head of state, while the Prime Minister, also called the Taoiseach meaning "chief" in Irish, is the head of government. The positions were created in 1937 when Ireland became a republic.
     More Options
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Éamon de Valera1937-1948; 1951-1954; 1957-1959; 1959-1973prime minister; president(Edward)
Douglas Hyde1938-1945president
Seán T. O'Kelly1945-1959president(Thomas)
John A. Costello1948-1951; 1954-1957prime minister(Aloysius)
Seán Lemass1959-1966prime minister(Francis)
Jack Lynch1966-1973; 1977-1979prime minister(John, Mary)
Liam Cosgrave1973-1977prime minister
Erskine H. Childers1973-1974president(Hamilton)
Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh1974-1976president
Patrick Hillery1976-1990president
Charles Haughey1979-1981; 1982; 1987-1992prime minister(James)
Garret FitzGerald1981-1982; 1982-1987prime minister
Mary Robinson1990-1997president
Albert Reynolds1992-1994prime minister
John Bruton1994-1997prime minister(Gerard)
Bertie Ahern1997-2008prime minister(Patrick, Bartholomew)
Mary McAleese1997-2011president
Brian Cowen2008-2011prime minister(Bernard)
Enda Kenny2011-2017prime minister
Michael D. Higgins2011-president(Daniel)
Leo Varadkar2017-2020; 2022-prime minister(Eric)
Mícheál Martin2020-2022prime minister