American Presidents

There have been 46 presidents of the United States (note that Grover Cleveland is both the 22nd and the 24th), starting with George Washington in 1789. American Presidents are elected for terms of four years, and they normally only run for re-election once. The only man to serve for more than two terms was Franklin Delano Roosevelt, who was elected four times. (See also First Ladies of the United States.)
     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
George Washington1789-1797
John Adams1797-1801
Thomas Jefferson1801-1809
James Madison1809-1817
James Monroe1817-1825
John Quincy Adams1825-1829
Andrew Jackson1829-1837
Martin Van Buren1837-1841
William Henry Harrison1841
John Tyler1841-1845
James K. Polk1845-1849(Knox)
Zachary Taylor1849-1850
Millard Fillmore1850-1853
Franklin Pierce1853-1857
James Buchanan1857-1861
Abraham Lincoln1861-1865
Andrew Johnson1865-1869
Ulysses S. Grant1869-1877(Simpson)
Rutherford B. Hayes1877-1881(Birchard)
James A. Garfield1881(Abram)
Chester A. Arthur1881-1885(Alan)
Grover Cleveland1885-1889; 1893-1897
Benjamin Harrison1889-1893
William McKinley1897-1901
Theodore Roosevelt1901-1909(Teddy)
William Howard Taft1909-1913
Woodrow Wilson1913-1921(Thomas)
Warren G. Harding1921-1923(Gamaliel)
Calvin Coolidge1923-1929
Herbert Hoover1929-1933(Clark)
Franklin D. Roosevelt1933-1945(Delano)
Harry S. Truman1945-1953(S)
Dwight D. Eisenhower1953-1961(Ike, David)
John F. Kennedy1961-1963(Fitzgerald)
Lyndon B. Johnson1963-1969(Baines)
Richard Nixon1969-1974(Milhous)
Gerald Ford1974-1977(Rudolph)
Jimmy Carter1977-1981(James, Earl)
Ronald Reagan1981-1989(Wilson)
George H. W. Bush1989-1993(Herbert, Walker)
Bill Clinton1993-2001(William, Jefferson)
George W. Bush2001-2009(Walker)
Barack Obama2009-2017(Hussein)
Donald J. Trump2017-2021(John)
Joe Biden2021-(Joseph, Robinette)