Indian Sultans and Emperors

This list is comprised of the Sultans of Delhi who ruled parts of northern India between 1206 and 1526, and the Mughal Emperors who replaced them and ruled until the British came to power in the 19th century. Also included are the Sur dynasty who briefly ruled from Delhi in the 16th century.
Display      more options...
NameYearsOther Names
Abu Bakr Shah1389-1390
Ahmad Shah Bahadur1748-1754(Mujahid ud-Din)
Akbar I the Great1556-1605(Jalal ud-Din, Muhammad)
Akbar II1806-1837
Shah Alam II1759-1806(Ali, Gauhar)
Alamgir II1754-1759(Aziz ud-Din)
Ala ud-Din Alam Shah1445-1451
Ala ud-Din Masud1242-1246
Ala ud-Din Sikandar Shah1394
Ala ud-Din Khilji1296-1316(Alauddin)
Aram Shah1210-1211
Aurangzeb1658-1707(Abul, Alamgir, Muzaffar, Muhi ud-Din, Muhammad)
Babur1526-1530(Zahir ud-Din, Muhammad)
Bahadur Shah I1707-1712(Alam, Qutb ud-Din, Muhammad, Muazzam)
Bahadur Shah II1837-1857
Bahlul Khan Lodi1451-1489
Farrukhsiyar1713-1719(Muin ud-Din, Muhammad)
Firuz Shah Tughlaq1351-1388
Firuz Shah Suri1554
Ghiyas ud-Din Balban1266-1287
Ghiyas ud-Din Tughluq1321-1325(Ghiyath al-Din)
Humayun1530-1540; 1555-1556(Nasir ud-Din, Muhammad)
Ibrahim Lodi1517-1526
Ibrahim Shah Suri1555
Islam Shah Suri1545-1554(Jalal)
Shah Jahan I1628-1658
Shah Jahan II1719(Rafi)
Shah Jahan III1759-1760
Jahandar Shah1712-1713(Mu'izz ud-Din)
Jahangir1605-1627(Nur ud-Din, Muhammad, Salim)
Jalal ud-Din Firuz Khilji1290-1296(Jalaluddin)
Khizr Khan1414-1421
Khusro Khan1320(Nasir ud-Din)
Mubarak Shah1421-1434(Muiz ud-Din)
Muhammad Adil Shah1554-1555(Mubariz)
Muhammad Azam Shah1707(Qutb ud-Din)
Muhammad bin Tughluq1325-1351
Muhammad Shah1434-1445
Muhammad Shah1719-1748(Nasir ud-Din, Roshan, Akhtar)
Muiz ud-Din Bahram1240-1242
Muiz ud-Din Qaiqabad1287-1290
Nasir ud-Din Mahmud1246-1266
Nasir ud-Din Muhammad Shah1390-1394
Nasir ud-Din Mahmud Shah Tughluq1394-1412
Qutb ud-Din Aibak1206-1210
Qutb ud-Din Mubarak Shah1316-1320
Rafi ud-Darajat1719
Raziyya ud-Din1236-1240(Radiyya, Razia)
Rukn ud-Din Firuz1236
Shams ud-Din Iltutmish1211-1236(Iltutmish)
Sher Shah Suri1540-1545(Farid)
Sikandar Lodi1489-1517
Sikandar Shah Suri1555
Tughluq Khan1388-1389(Ghiyas ud-Din, Ghiyath ud-Din)