Indian Sultans and Emperors

This list is comprised of the Sultans of Delhi who ruled parts of northern India between 1206 and 1526, and the Mughal Emperors who replaced them and ruled until the British came to power in the 19th century. Also included are the Sur dynasty who briefly ruled from Delhi in the 16th century.
     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Qutb ud-Din Aibak1206-1210
Aram Shah1210-1211
Shams ud-Din Iltutmish1211-1236(Iltutmish)
Rukn ud-Din Firuz1236
Raziyya ud-Din1236-1240(Radiyya, Razia)
Muiz ud-Din Bahram1240-1242
Ala ud-Din Masud1242-1246
Nasir ud-Din Mahmud1246-1266
Ghiyas ud-Din Balban1266-1287
Muiz ud-Din Qaiqabad1287-1290
Jalal ud-Din Firuz Khilji1290-1296(Jalaluddin)
Ala ud-Din Khilji1296-1316(Alauddin)
Qutb ud-Din Mubarak Shah1316-1320
Khusro Khan1320(Nasir ud-Din)
Ghiyas ud-Din Tughluq1321-1325(Ghiyath al-Din)
Muhammad bin Tughluq1325-1351
Firuz Shah Tughlaq1351-1388
Tughluq Khan1388-1389(Ghiyas ud-Din, Ghiyath ud-Din)
Abu Bakr Shah1389-1390
Nasir ud-Din Muhammad Shah1390-1394
Ala ud-Din Sikandar Shah1394
Nasir ud-Din Mahmud Shah Tughluq1394-1412
Khizr Khan1414-1421
Mubarak Shah1421-1434(Muiz ud-Din)
Muhammad Shah1434-1445
Ala ud-Din Alam Shah1445-1451
Bahlul Khan Lodi1451-1489
Sikandar Lodi1489-1517
Ibrahim Lodi1517-1526
Babur1526-1530(Zahir ud-Din, Muhammad)
Humayun1530-1540; 1555-1556(Nasir ud-Din, Muhammad)
Sher Shah Suri1540-1545(Farid)
Islam Shah Suri1545-1554(Jalal)
Firuz Shah Suri1554
Muhammad Adil Shah1554-1555(Mubariz)
Ibrahim Shah Suri1555
Sikandar Shah Suri1555
Akbar I the Great1556-1605(Jalal ud-Din, Muhammad)
Jahangir1605-1627(Nur ud-Din, Muhammad, Salim)
Shah Jahan I1628-1658
Aurangzeb1658-1707(Abul, Alamgir, Muzaffar, Muhi ud-Din, Muhammad)
Muhammad Azam Shah1707(Qutb ud-Din)
Bahadur Shah I1707-1712(Alam, Qutb ud-Din, Muhammad, Muazzam)
Jahandar Shah1712-1713(Mu'izz ud-Din)
Farrukhsiyar1713-1719(Muin ud-Din, Muhammad)
Rafi ud-Darajat1719
Shah Jahan II1719(Rafi)
Muhammad Shah1719-1748(Nasir ud-Din, Roshan, Akhtar)
Ahmad Shah Bahadur1748-1754(Mujahid ud-Din)
Alamgir II1754-1759(Aziz ud-Din)
Shah Jahan III1759-1760
Shah Alam II1759-1806(Ali, Gauhar)
Akbar II1806-1837
Bahadur Shah II1837-1857