Tony Award Winners

The Tony Awards have been given out annually since 1947 in recognition of excellence in live Broadway theatre. They are named after Antoinette Perry, founder of the American Theatre Wing, the presenters of the awards.

Included in the list are the winners of the Best Directors, Leading Actors and Leading Actresses categories.

     More Options
NameYearCategoryPlayOther Names
Audrey Hepburn1954actressOndine
Helen Hayes1947actress
Idina Menzel2004actressWicked
John Gielgud1959actorAges of Man
John Gielgud1961directorBig Fish, Little Fish
John Gielgud1948actorThe Importance of Being Earnest
Mel Brooks2001directorThe Producers(Melvin, James)
Mike Nichols1964directorBarefoot in the Park(Michael, Igor)
Rita Moreno1975actressThe Ritz
Scott Rudin1994director
Whoopi Goldberg2002actressThoroughly Modern Millie(Caryn, Elaine)
Winston Ntshona1975actorSizwe Banzi is Dead